Home > Accords > Washington Accord 1989

What's Inside

Washington Accord 1989

Bookmark and Share

Overview: Initiated in the UK by the Engineering Council, the Washington Accord, signed in 1989, is an international agreement among bodies responsible for accrediting engineering degree programs. It recognizes the substantial equivalency of programs accredited by those bodies and recommends that graduates of programs accredited by any of the signatory bodies be recognized by the other bodies as having met the academic requirements for entry to the practice of engineering.

Signatories: Signatories have full rights of participation in the Accord; qualifications accredited or recognised by other signatories are recognised by each signatory as being substantially equivalent to accredited or recognised qualifications within its own jurisdiction.

Australia - Represented by Engineers Australia (1989)

Canada - Represented by Engineers Canada (1989)

Chinese Taipei - Represented by Institute of Engineering Education Taiwan (2007)

Hong Kong China - Represented by The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (1995)

India - Represented by National Board of Accreditation (2014)

(Applies only to programmes accredited by NBA offered by education providers accepted by NBA as Tier 1 institutions.)

Ireland - Represented by Engineers Ireland (1989)

Japan - Represented by Japan Accreditation Board for Engineering Education (2005)

Korea - Represented by Accreditation Board for Engineering Education of Korea (2007)

Malaysia - Represented by Board of Engineers Malaysia (2009)

New Zealand - Represented by Institution of Professional Engineers NZ (1989)

Russia - Represented by Association for Engineering Education of Russia (2012)

Singapore - Represented by Institution of Engineers Singapore (2006)

South Africa - Represented by Engineering Council of South Africa (1999)

Sri Lanka - Represented by Institution of Engineers Sri Lanka (2014)

Turkey - Represented by MUDEK (2011)

United Kingdom - Represented by Engineering Council UK (1989)

United States - Represented by Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (1989)

Organizations holding provisional status have been identified as having qualification accrediation or recognition procedures that are potentially suitable for the purposes of the Accord; those organizations are further developing those procedures with the goal of achieving signatory status in due course; qualifications accredited or recognised by organisations holding provisional status are not recognized by the signatories.

Bangladesh - Represented by Board of Accreditation for Engineering and Technical Education

China - Represented by China Association for Science and Technology

Costa Rica - Represented by Association of Engineers and Architects of Costa Rica

Mexico - Represented by Consejo de Acreditación de la Enseñanza de la Ingeniería

Pakistan - Represented by Pakistan Engineering Council

Peru - Represented by ICACIT

Philippines - Represented by Philippine Technological Council

Mission, Goals, and Achievements: The Washington Accord set the criteria, policies and procedures for accrediting engineering academic programs. Its signatories agreed to accept each other's accreditation decisions and to publish statements certifying their intent to do so. Thus, the signatories agreed to recognize the "substantial equivalence" of their respective programs in terms of meeting academic requirements for engineering programs. The signatories pledged to exchange information exchange and conduct mutual monitoring, to observe each other's accreditation visits, and to encourage best practices. The Washington Accord provides for admission of new members and a biennial general meeting. Thus, this accord promotes the effective mutual recognition of accredited Engineering Degree courses in each of the signatory countries. Australia and United States continued to be Chairman and Secretariat of the Accord. 

Significant Web Sites: