Lisbon Recognition Convention (1997)

This convention promoted the mutual recognition of qualifications without discrimination among European countries. It aimed at affirming that degree holders from one of the UK member countries would be recognized, without qualifications, in any of the other signatory countries. More recently, the Lisbon Recognition Convention Committee set forth their Recommendation on the Recognition of Joint Degrees.

Sorbonne Declaration (1998)

At a key meeting for European educational reform, the four ministers of France, Germany, Italy, and UK proposed a harmonization of “the architecture of the European higher education system through inter-university agreements to remove barriers existing in the overall European degree framework. They proposed a common degree level system for bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees. A primary aim was to improve student mobility and employability.

Engineering Technologist Mobility Forum (2001)

This international forum was held by the signatories of the Sydney Accord to explore mutual recognition for experienced engineering technologists and to remove artificial barriers to the free movement and practice of engineering technologists amongst their countries.

International Professional Engineers Agreement (2001)

Previously known as the Engineers Mobility Forum, the IPEA is a global agreement that allows Chartered Engineers to practice in the countries of other members. This multinational agreement helped lay the groundwork for an international standard of competence for engineering professionals.

Salamanca Declaration (2001)

European educational representatives met to discuss and prepare their input for the upcoming Prague meeting of Bologna Process ministers. They developed these principles: autonomy with accountability, education as a public responsibility, research-based higher education, and effective organization of valuable diversity.

Prague Communiqué (2001)

The declaration reaffirmed the commitment of the thirty-three European signatory countries to the Bologna Process. They emphasized these action items: to foster lifelong learning, to encourage active participation of students in the process, and to promote the global appeal of the European Higher Education Area. They also set priorities and goals for the coming years.

Berlin Communiqué (2003)

The Berlin Communiqué reviewed the progress made through the Bologna Process and set the EU Commission goals up to 2005. Educational representatives determined quality as the key need, and stressed the need to develop mutual criteria and methodologies for quality assurance. International cooperation and networking were identified as important objectives.

Graz Declaration (2003)

This major European University Association policy document set forth the formal position of European universities and their priorities for the next phase of the Bologna Process. The Graz Declaration stressed the need to transform the wealth of legislation changes into meaningful academic reform and sought a wider role for European universities on a global scale.

Glasgow Declaration (2005)

At this conference, the European University Association underlined the commitment of the European universities to move the Bologna reforms forward. The declaration stressed the need for balance between competition and cohesion, as well as for governmental support and university implementation of the needed educations improvements. This is the first clear statement addressing the crucial funding issues inherent in the Bologna Process reforms.

Bergen Conference (2005)

After a mid-term review of the Bologna Process, the participants adopted the overall framework for EHEA qualifications, the degree cycles, and the credit granted. They set a goal for the work to be started by 2007 and set up priorities for the "second half" of the Bologna Process, up to 2010. At this conference, five new members, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, signed the Bologna Accord.